White House Tavel Guide

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • White House Tavel Guide

Wherever you come from, you must know the famous building - the White House. The White House is the official residence and principal workplace of the President of the United States, and protected by the United States Secret Service and the United States Park Police. It has been the residence of every U. S. president since John Adams in 1800.

The house was built between 1792 and 1800 of white-painted Aquia Creek sandstone in the Neoclassical style. The property is a National Heritage Site owned by the National Park Service and is part of the President's Park. In 2007, it was ranked second on the American Institute of Architects list of "America's Favorite Architecture".

Today, the White House Complex includes the Executive Residence, West Wing, East Wing, the Eisenhower Executive Office Building—the former State Department, which now houses offices for the President's staff and the Vice President—and Blair House, a guest residence. The Executive Residence is made up of six stories—the Ground Floor, State Floor, Second Floor, and Third Floor, as well as a two-story basement.

White House tours were suspended for most of 2013 due to budget constraints after sequestration, and reopened to the public in November 2013. Visitors must apply for six months in advance. Americans must apply via one of their state's members of Congress, and non-Americans must apply through either the US consulate in their home country or their country's consulate in DC.