U. S. Capitol Tavel Guide

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • U. S. Capitol Tavel Guide

The United States Capitol is one of the most recognizable symbols of representative democracy in the world. It atop Capitol Hill, completed in the year 1800, includes the United States Congress and the legislative branch of the U. S. federal government. Though not at the geographic center of the Federal District, the Capitol is the origin point at which the District's four quadrants meet, and around which the city was laid out.

The Capitol is built in a distinctive neoclassical style and has a white exterior. Amateur architect William Thornton was submitted first design, then, officially approved in April 5, 1793 and revise Thornton's plan several times.

The building is marked by its central dome above a rotunda in the central section of the structure. The statue on top of the dome is the "Statue of Freedom". The murals, known as the Brumidi Corridors, reflect great moments and people in United States history. Also decorating the walls are animals, insects and natural flora indigenous to the United States. Many spaces open was left so that future events in United States history could be added. The artist Constantino Brumid also worked within the Rotunda. He is responsible for the painting of "The Apotheosis of Washington" beneath the top of the dome, and also the famous "Frieze of American History", and completed painted by four different artists.

The Capitol also houses the National Statuary Hall Collection, comprising two statues donated by each of the fifty states to honor persons notable in their histories. Eleven presidents have lain in state in the Rotunda for public viewing. The tomb meant for Washington stored the catafalque which is used to support coffins lying in state or honor in the Capitol. Under the Rotunda there is an area known as the Crypt, now exhibits on the history of the Capitol.