Plaza Mayor Tavel Guide
As the best know plaza in Madrid, Plaza Mayor has a total of nine entranceways. The Casa de la Panadería (Bakery House), serving municipal and cultural functions, dominates the Plaza Mayor. Originally built outside the city walls, this enclosed square has played host to bullfights, markets, symphonies, tournaments and executions. Today it is ringed with tourist shops, cafes and restaurants.
The name of the plaza has changed over time. Originally it was called the "Plaza del Arrabal" in 1812, and became known as the "Plaza Real" in 1814. The plaza once again held the name "Plaza de la Constitución" in the periods from 1820 to 1823, 1833 to 1835, and 1840 to 1843. A proclamation of the Second Spanish Republic gave the plaza the name of "Plaza de la Constitución" until the end of the Spanish Civil War when the plaza was renamed the "Plaza Mayor", the name it bears to date.