Wellington Cable Car Tavel Guide
The Wellington Cable Car is widely recognised as a symbol of Wellington. It is the easiest way to get a nice view of the city and harbor, from Lambton Quay to the Botanic Garden in Kelburn, and rising 120 m (394 ft) over a length of 612 m (2, 008 ft). The line opened to the public on 22 February 1902. Today, the Cable Car is used by slightly under a million people each year, especially during summer.
The Wellington Cable Car Museum located in the original winding house and new extension, it houses original grip cars 1 and 3 and electric winding gear. Car 1 is in red 1970s livery, including contemporary advertising. Car 3 was restored in 2005 to a green livery dating from about 1905, and a bell from the San Francisco Cable Car was added. The winding gear is still in working order and runs a loop of cable, but the cable no longer leaves the building.